How To Cancel A Lyft Ride?

How To Cancel A Lyft Ride?

Have you booked a ride on Lyft, but now suddenly changed your mind about using it? Then, you really need to immediately cancel your booked Lyft ride to avoid being charged. Do you how to do so? If not, then we will give you all the possible methods right now on how to cancel a Lyft Ride.

Like Uber, Lyft also provides you with a mobility service from which you can either hire a vehicle or simply take a ride. By making the use of Lyft App, you can book your ride fast. You only need to submit a request, and you will be matched with the ride near you in just a few minutes. However, if you decide to cancel your Lyft ride after making a reservation, you can do so in a few simple steps.

You don’t need to visit other platforms to terminate your booked Lyft Ride, the cancellation option is available on the same platform. You can easily cancel your Lyft Ride from the Lyft app itself. Do go through the detailed cancellation steps discussed below.

Can You Cancel Your Lyft Ride? Lyft Cancellation Policy

Yes, you can cancel your Lyft Ride at any time from their app. However, on some conditions, you will be charged a penalty fee of $10 for canceling your ride. To avoid being charged, make sure to cancel your Lyft Ride before its cancelation window is closed. 

What Is The Cancelation Window For Lyft?

Lyft charges a cancelation fee based on the time of cancelation. If you cancel your ride before the time limit expires, you will not be charged for that service. The cancelation window is different for the type of ride. Take a look at this-

  • For Scheduled Rides: The cancelation window is for up to five minutes. If you are able to cancel your ride within five minutes before the driver comes to pick you up, then you will not be charged for it. 
  • For Unscheduled Rides: The cancelation window for unscheduled rides is determined by the time it takes the driver to arrive at your location. If you cancel your ride while the driver is still far away, you will not be charged; otherwise, you will be charged if the driver arrives at your location.

How To Cancel A Lyft Ride?

Lyft cancelation policy- If you ever decided to cancel your Lyft Ride, then you have two ways to do so. These are:

  • Cancel A Scheduled Lyft Ride
  • Cancel A Lyft Ride You Just Booked (Unscheduled Ride)

How To Cancel Scheduled Lyft Ride?

Follow these steps to cancel a scheduled Lyft Ride:

  • Open your Lyft Account
  • Click on the “Calendar” icon from the top right corner of the screen
  • Select the scheduled ride you want to cancel
  • Click on “Cancel Ride” 
  • Then, tap on “Confirm” for ride cancelation. 

How To Cancel A Lyft Ride You Just Booked?

Follow these steps to cancel your unscheduled Lyft Ride:

  • Open your Lyft Account
  • Click on “Edit Ride” from the button left corner of the screen
  • Select “Cancel Ride”
  • Tap again on “Cancel Ride” to confirm your cancelation. 

How Do I Modify A Lyft Ride?

If you don’t want to cancel your ride, but only want to make some changes to your booked ride, then you can easily do so as Lyft Ride allows you to modify your ride after booking it. You can change the settings for rides you just booked as well as rides you booked in advance.

How To Modify A Lyft Ride You Just Booked?

Open your Lyft Account> Tap on “Edit Ride”> Make Changes To Your Ride. You can change your drop-off location, rideshare service, and many more things. 

How To Modify A Scheduled Lyft Ride?

Open your Lyft Account> Navigate to “Calendar”> Select “Edit Ride”> Make changes to your ride. 

How To Delete Your Lyft Account?

If you want to delete your Lyft Account, then follow these steps to do so:

  • Open your Lyft App
  • Click on the “Menu” icon
  • Select the “Help” option
  • Tap on “Profile & Account” 
  • Click on “Delete My Account” 
  • Tap on “Go to Account Deletion”
  • Enter your phone number
  • Hit the “Next” button
  • Tap on Delete> Delete Account
  • After 45 days your account will be deleted. 

Frequently Asked Questions

If I Cancel A Lyft Do I Get My Money Back?

Lyft has a strict no-refund policy. As your cancelation, can waste their time, they stated it clearly that after canceling any unused ride, they won’t refund you your money. 

Is Lyft Charge You With A Cancelation Fee?

Yes, if you cancel your scheduled or unscheduled Lyft Ride after their cancelation window closed, then you will be charged a penalty of $10 for your cancelation. Make sure to cancel your Ride within the time frame of the cancelation window. 

Why Do Lyft Drivers Cancel So Much?

When Lyft Drivers find out that the location is too far, then in this situation, most of the drivers cancel their ride booking.

Conclusion

However, if you are dissatisfied with the Lyft Ride Service or if someone has advised you not to take a Lyft Ride, you can easily cancel your ride from Lyft, even if it is booked or scheduled. Whatever the reason is, we are here to help you in canceling your Lyft Ride easily with the above-mentioned steps.

I have been writing articles on Cancelhow.com from the very beginning. I research before writing tutorials and make sure to pen it down in such a way that it becomes easier to understand by users.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *